Along Kochstrasse… part 2

It will come as no surprise to you that I need help.  But more specifically, does anyone know what this building is, on Kochstrasse, not far from Checkpoint Charlie, and opposite the IBA building further down this page?

I’ve noticed it a few times; looks early 90s to me, and is very ‘lightly’ built, lots of glass and steel framing.

Anyway, across the road is another block built as part of the 1987 IBA, by Hans Kammerer, Walter Belz and Klaus Kucher, on the corner at Kochstrasse 59/Charlottenstrasse 83 – part of Block 5, if you need to know.

It’s on the opposite corner from Sauerbruch & Hutton’s very fine GSW building (photo thanks, runningforasthma):

It’s classic IBA, with downplayed street facades, but ‘gives good courtyard’, with its own littel world tucked away from the busy main road.  Actually, I say ‘busy main road’ – of course this is Berlin, so it looks like a busy main road, but has the traffic flow of a small village.  One that’s not on the route to somewhere busy.

See what I mean? I particularly like the spirally entrance ramp, which I attempted to cycle up, which left me less-than-impressively jammed against a bend at one point, to the amusement of a resident coming in.

4 thoughts on “Along Kochstrasse… part 2

  1. Hi Jim, it’s the TAZ newapaper building and when I’m awake tomorrow I’ll look in my architecture guide and tell you all the details

  2. The TAZ building is an addition to the adjoining listed 1906 building. Architect Gerhard Spangenberg with Brigitte Steinkilberg. Completed 1991. See Neue Architektur Berlin 1990-2000 (Jovis, 1998) p.86.

    1. Hey Greg, thanks for that, how’s it going? I really must get myself some better architecture guidebooks (if anyone from Jovis Verlag reading, I’d do a very favourable review of a press copy…).

      Jim

Leave a Reply

